Have you been told by the kids or grandkids (or someone who is used to working on a computer) that you need to 'close' your iPhone and iPad apps on a regular basis to save your battery's life?
I see so many clients who proudly show me this piece of wisdom that has been shared with them - they religiously visit the task switcher on a regular basis and close off any apps to ensure that there are few or no apps listed.
Well, relax - you don't need to do this any more!
Mose apps are effectively 'closed' the minute you hit the Home button to return to your Home Screen, or when you use your task switcher to switch to another App.
The exception is those apps that have a feature called 'Background App Refresh'. This feature was introduced in iOS 7.
The idea of this feature is that some apps can refresh themselves in the background - for example, downloading updates and new content regularly, or keeping track of your location so that location-based information can be available when you switch back.
You can see what apps can use this feature in your Settings - go to
Settings -> Background App Refresh.
The Background App Refresh option allows you to decide which apps are allowed to use this feature.
While it is true that apps that use Background App Refresh do make use of your battery to do their refreshes, your devices are clever enough to work out your patterns of use and only update at the most efficient times and not bother updating when the device is not being used.
Just be careful about turning off Background App Refresh for those apps that need to be doing 'stuff' even when they are not currently active. If you close an app by dragging it upwards when you are in the task switcher/multitasking view, you will be stopping it from carrying out its background activities (for example such as tracking your location or responding to VoIP calls), until you relaunch it.